Runners of the Year

See Past Award Winners

The Runner of the Year Award is presented annually to the club member who has demonstrated the greatest achievements in competitive running during the year.  This award is presented for the following categories:

  • Open Male (any age)
  • Open Female (any age)
  • Masters Male (age 40 plus as of January 1)
  • Masters Female (age 40 plus as of January 1)
  • Grandmasters Male (age 60 plus as of January 1)
  • Grandmasters Female (age 60 plus as of January 1)

Qualification: Runner of the Year (ROY) candidates must have been club members for the entire year and be of the relevant age/sex category for the entire year.  Members who have won Runner of the Year are not eligible to win again in the same age/sex category but may be nominated and considered again in a new age/sex category.

Nominating Process: Any club member may nominate another member for Runner of the Year.  A short statement of support requesting nomination of a candidate may be sent to

Nominations due by January 2nd.

Additional Considerations: In selecting the ROY winners from among the finalists whose accomplishments for the year are judged to be approximately equivalent, the ROY Committee will take into consideration the extent of club participation either as a runner, volunteer in a race, or other contributions to club activities or committees.  Age grading is not used by the ROY Committee.

Selection: The ROY (Runner of the Year) Committee typically meets in December to review nominations that have been submitted and for the committee to submit its own nominations.  Once the committee decides upon a final list of nominees, candidates are invited to submit a running resume detailing their accomplishments throughout the year.  At a second meeting, the committee reviews the submitted resumes and selects winners via a secret ballot.  The ROY Committee is made up of past Runner of the Year recipients.